All-County athletes receive recognition

in News by
Coaches of the Year also attended the Athletic Awards and were awarded with plaques for their hard work, effort and coaching. (Photo/American Heritage Facebook)

While many students this weekend chose to occupy themselves with studying for upcoming finals and attending review days, around 30 athletes attended the annual Miami Herald Broward All County Breakfast hosted at the Signature Grand in Davie May 21. Athletes from all fall, winter and spring sports received awards for their performance county-wise. First team winners (players selected from various high schools and combined to form “first” teams) accepted their medals, and as the ceremony continued, the scholar athletes, players and coaches of the year were announced.

“I couldn’t [win Golf Coach of the Year] without all of the boys,” Golf Coach Brandt Moser said. “Not just the boys, but the parents, their hard work and all the sacrifices they have made. It’s really hard to get this award without a great team, and I owe it all to them.” Coach Moser misses the season, but is eager to see what the next one has to offer.

(left to right) Junior Reed Tillinghast, Seniors Benjamin Grossi, Diego Gargiulo and Sebastian Vidante and junior Christian Maldonado were all selected for the first team in the soccer division. Grossi was chosen for the Player of the Year. (Photo submitted by Reed Tillinghast)

Boys Soccer Player of the Year winner and recently graduated senior Benjamin Grossi is also excited for what next year has to offer. Even though he will not be playing for the school team next year but playing for Lafayette College, Grossi acknowledges his team and their hard work. “It felt great to win [this title] once again. It shows that my work on the field is being noticed. And although it’s an individual award, I really couldn’t have done it without my team.” Grossi said.

Below are the winners of the 2019 Miami Herald Broward All County Breakfast:

All Broward 18-19 5A-1A Girls’ Major Sports Award & the All Sports Award Elizabeth Matei – Scholar Athlete of the Year
Casey Weidenfeld – Girls Golfer of the Year
Linda Sibio – Girls Golf Coach of the Year
Luke Clanton – Boys Co-Golfer of the Year
Brandt Moser – Golf Coach of the Year
Taylor Dobles – Girls Soccer Player of the Year
Cindy Marcial Soccer – Co-Coach of the Year
Benjamin Grossi – Boys Soccer Player of the Year
Todd Goodman – Boys Soccer Coach of the Year
Paris Sharpe – Girls Basketball Player of the Year
Greg Farias – Girls Basketball Coach of the Year
Natalie Block – Girls Tennis Player of the Year
All Broward 18-19 5A-1A Girls’ Major Sports Award & the All Sports Award

Maia Fernandez Baigun has been on the Patriot Post staff for three years and is the Print Co-Editor-in-Chief. She loves design, photography and everything related to music. Maia is also the historian for National Honor Society and the Vice President for Save the Memories. In her free time, if she has any, Maia can be found on Spotify, making one too many playlists or taking photos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.