New year, new clubs

in News by
“The purpose of [The Indigenous Peoples] club is to inform people about indigenous’ history, culture and issues,” co-president Giana Vilme said. “The most important goal for the club is to create and provide a safe space for indigenous people at the school.” (Graphic/ Emily Anderson)

With the arrival of the new year comes the arrival of new clubs. At the start of January, the Inner Club Council (ICC) welcomed 17 new clubs. Here is the list of the upcoming new 2021 clubs and their advisors. (Not every club has a description due to lack of response.) 

Alex’s Lemonade Stand Club

Advisor: Sara Haina

Contact: sara.haina@ahschool.com

Co-presidents: Daniela Zaghlul and Christina Holston

Arabic Club

Advisor: Darryl Trowbridge 

Contact: darryl.trowbridge@ahschool.com

CARE Club

Advisor: Jennifer Bolanos-Cadenas 

Contact: jennifer.bolanos-cadenas@ahschool.com

Change For Children

Advisor: Ms. Celine Guillerm

Contact: celine.guillerm@ahschool.com

Chemistry Olympiad

Advisor: Julia Couper 

Contact: julia.couper@ahschool.com

President: Cole Travers

Child Protection Committee

Advisor: Christopher Clark

Contact: christopher.clark@ahschool.com

Contemporary Music Club

Advisor: Stratos Argyriou 

Contact: stratos.argyriou@ahschool.com

Co-presidents: Benji Price and Jonah Weltmann

Current Events Club

Advisor: Darryl Trowbridge 

Contact: darryl.trowbridge@ahschool.com

Indigenous Peoples Club

The Indigenous Peoples Club informs students about Indigenous culture, history, and issues. If you are interested in becoming a member, contact its advisor, Kelly Grady, or its co-presidents, Giana Vilme and Skye Stubbs. 

Advisor: Kelly Grady

Contact: kelly.grady@ahschool.com

Co-presidents: Giana Vilme and Skye Stubbs

Junior State of America 

Advisor: Jonathan Pedrone

Contact: jonathan.pedrone@ahschool.com

The One Way Water Academy 

Advisor: Raquel Bolanos

Contact: raquel.bolanos@ahschool.com

Co-presidents: Coby Ackerman, Saatvik Kaul and Andres Teixeira Ferreira

PASTA 

Advisor: Kelley Zavatsky

Contact: kelley.zavatsky@ahschool.com

The Podcasting Club

Advisor: Shaneka Major

Contact: shaneka.major@ahschool.com

Political Discussion

Advisor: Rivana Stadlander

Contact: rivana.stadlander@ahschool.com

Psychology Club

Advisor: Lara Herrera

Contact: lara.herrera@ahschool.com

Red Cross Club

Advisor: Christopher White

Contact: christopher.white@ahschool.com

Young Investors Society 

Advisor: Brian Tuffin

Contact: brian.tuffin@ahschool.com

President: Luke Freed

If you are interested in learning more about any of these clubs, you can check out the 2020-2021 ICC club information sheet.

As a senior, Emily spends her second year on staff as both a copy editor and entertainment editor. Outside newspaper, Emily plays violin in the school orchestra and leads Dead Poets Society as president. When she's not at school, however, Emily enjoys writing poetry, repeatedly watching the same movies and, sometimes, succeeding in her goal of reading five books a week.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*