Spring sports are now in season 

in Sports by
With winter sports coming to an end, students  begin this year’s spring sports. Freshman Alecsa Cooper, left, just joined the tennis team. “I have an on and off situation with liking tennis, but since I was allowed to join the team, it made my love for tennis grow,” Cooper said.  (Photo/Wikimedia)

A new semester means a new season which means…new sports: time to leave winter sports behind and welcome spring sports. With nearly nine new sports available, it seems like it will be a competitive season and the perfect time to try out a new sport. Try-outs and practices for some have already begun and many deadlines are coming up.

Baseball (Grades 7-12)

Varsity’s first practice was Monday, Jan. 24. As for JV and JH, training will be Monday, Jan. 31. 

For more information, you can email the following coaches:

Varsity – Bruce Aven – Bruce.aven@ahschool.com

JV – Jorge Miranda – Jorge.miranda@ahschool.com

JH – Bobby Curtis – Robert.curtis@ahschool.com

Softball (Grades 7-12)

Varsity Softball’s first practice took place Monday, Jan. 24. JV Softball will take place Monday, Jan. 31. 

For more information, you can email the following coaches:

Varsity – Marty Cooper – Marty.cooper@ahshchool.com

Varsity Assistant – Wayne Lenoff – Wayne.Lenoff@ahschool.com

JV – Tammy Melton – Tammy.melton@ahschool.com

Track (Grades 6-12)

The track team’s first official practice day is Monday, Jan. 31. 

For more information, you may email the following coaches:

Varsity – Greg Barnes –

Greg.Barnes@ahschool.com

Varsity – Thomas Johnson – Thomas.Johnson@ahschool.com

JV/JH- TBA

Tennis (Grades 9-12)

For those wanting to join the tennis team, the first practice was Monday, Jan. 24. Students were required to pre-register with a GA7 form and give it to the athletic department or email it to michele.armiento@ahschool.com. To participate, the FHSAA sports physical, uploaded or faxed to MAGNUS, needs to be completed and not turned into the office or a teacher. MAGNUS can be found through the parent portal or the school office. 

For more information, you can email the following coaches:

Varsity – Toby Croke- Toby.croke@ahschool.com

Lacrosse Girls and Boys (Grades 6-12)

Varsity practice will start on Monday, Jan. 24, and JH will begin on Feb. 7. The players are required to bring their equipment,wear black shorts and a black, gold, or white shirt with black/white reversible pinnies for practice. 

For more information, you can email the following coaches:

Boys

Varsity – Chad Moore – Chad.moore@ahschool.com

JV – Jay Cosby- Jay.cosby@ahschool.com

Girls

Varsity – Corey Englehard – corey.englehard@ahschool.com

JV/JH – Tracey Leve – Tleve@bellsouth.net

Volleyball boys (Grades 7-12)

Preseason workouts will start January and the first official practice will be Monday, Feb. 7. Practices will be Monday through Friday from 3:45 p.m. to 6 p.m.

For more information, you may email the following coach:

Varsity – German Garcia – German.garcia@ahschool.com

Swimming (Grades 6-8)

No set practice dates are available yet. 

For more information, you can email the following coach:

JH – Nobutaka Tan – Nobutaka.tan@ahschool.com

Weightlifting (Grades 9-12)

The first official practice for weightlifting was Thursday, Jan. 20. 

For more information, you can email the following coach:

Varsity – Travis Spiva – Travis.spiva@ahschool.com

If you have some extra time on your hands and want to improve at a skill, joining a spring sports team is a great way to do that.

Kayra Su Dayi came here from Turkey in 6th grade and will be in 9th grade next year. She loves painting the pictures of nature or animals which she takes with her camera when she finds something captivating or interesting. Aside from art, she plays tennis and competes in speech and debate. She prefers to give informative speeches, but is still in the process of exploring the broad range of speeches. She liked to volunteer at Flamingo Gardens before the pandemic every weekend. She is a member of NJHS and interested to join more clubs next year!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*